Sneaking Out of Club Commitments

One of my pet peeves is when someone comes in, joins the club, gets free tastings and a discounted bottle or two then quits the club a few weeks later. I do have a few things in place to cut down on this including requiring a first shipment in order to start benefits. However, my staff doesn’t quite enforce this requirement, especially when the cat is away. Is there a way to not allow club discounts until a certain number of bottles are purchased or $$$ spent? Does anyone require the first shipment to go out (whether the first shipment is sold through the tasting room or they decide to wait until the first actual shipment) in order to award your employee the sign up bonus? Is that even legal?

Plenty of wineries delay the signup bonus. It’s a tradeoff of accounting vs simplicity. Either way it should be easy enough to enforce the first shipment rule by making proper enforcement a condition of the signup bonus.

I am not an HR pro, you should consult one. Rules may be different in your state, but I’m pretty sure a delayed signup bonus is okay in CA.

Of course, clamping down on your staff could have an overall negative effect on your signup rate. Keep that in mind.

Your first step should be to measure how often this actually happens. I get upset at this sort of thing too, but when I check the data, it really rarely happens (in my experience).

Run a LTV report or Shipments per Member report, or some combination of these, to see if it’s really worth fighting.

I ended up not fighting it, and I feel that increased flexibility is a bigger selling point than more rules.

This. I’ve found that when it does happen, the number of times that it seems truly nefarious is very small. And I put a flag in the customer record for future reference. :wink:

1 Like

I like the idea of flagging the customer’s account. I haven’t had many that I felt were taking advantage, but I hope I would look at it more as a missed opportunity than a loss.