What's the ideal EMV / chip card POS set up in Vin65?

Hi,

I’m brand new to Vin65 and the forum. We’re a new winery in Ontario opening our doors for the first time this summer so there’s loads going on right now and I’m trying to get my head around POS setup. POS will be our main sales channel. I’m thinking 2 ipads behind the bar with a single printer and cash drawer. I think I’ve read every article, forum post and FAQ that I can find on this topic but I’m left with some questions. You chaps on this forum seem jolly good at answering questions (I’m English, so I do actually talk like this sometimes).

I can see that nothing is going to work perfectly, but I’m curious as to what wineries do about the following issues specifically in Canada, or if anyone in the US has some good ideas.

One of the main attractions of Vin65 was email capture at POS, and the seamlessness of doing everything on an iPad. But the hurdle to this in Canada is that a) people use chip cards, and like using them rather than swiping and b) we need to take debit cards (Interac) which I think you can only use with a chip machine. Change Merchant Solutions provides such a machine, but from what I see we’ll then lose a) email capture on the iPad, b) any ability to tip without asking the customer whether they want to and how much in advance (which is a crappy experience) c) the slick iPad-only POS.

The tipping is the main issue here - does the CMS card machine let the customer add a tip and then automatically show this in Vin65? If not, how do you handle gratuities? The only alternative I can see is to use another payment terminal and gateway, have tasting room staff manually enter the order total, the customer is then prompted to enter the tip, the staff add it into Vin65. It seems like a lot of extra steps and open to error in a busy tasting room…

OR do we just not accept debit, or perhaps only use the machine for debit. Again, not great. Any suggestions much appreciated.