California Automatic Renewal Compliance Law

It looks like CA Senate Bill 313 requires club members to be able to cancel their membership online. https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB313

Is there any way to add functionality to a WD site that allows a club member to cancel their membership while they’re on the winery website?

Thanks!
/Bradley

I’m no lawyer, but the text of the law below would seem to allow email as an acceptable mechanism for requesting a cancellation:

(b) A business that makes an automatic renewal offer or continuous service offer shall provide a toll-free telephone number, electronic mail address, a postal address if the seller directly bills the consumer, or it shall provide another cost-effective, timely, and easy-to-use mechanism for cancellation that shall be described in the acknowledgment specified in paragraph (3) of subdivision (a).

(c) In addition to the requirements of subdivision (b), a consumer who accepts an automatic renewal or continuous service offer online shall be allowed to terminate the automatic renewal or continuous service exclusively online, which may include a termination email formatted and provided by the business that a consumer can send to the business without additional information.

1 Like

Thanks @ElJefe!

My plan was to have a mailto link that already had cancellation text inside the body of the email. I’m hoping that will suffice for now.

I’d love to hear how other wineries are prepping for this change?

1 Like

FYI, WineDirect is building a feature you can turn on to allow members to cancel online.

https://ideas.winedirect.com/ideas/SUB-I-201

4 Likes

Hi @BradleyPirman3 - Thanks for flagging this and thanks @ElJefe and @EdFarmCollective for chiming in.